follow us Twitter Facebook
<< Back to News

Hatfield named OIPA Member of the Year

July 10, 2015
Kim Hatfield, president of Oklahoma City’s Crawley Petroleum Corp., has been named the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association’s Member of the Year.

Hatfield was recognized for his efforts as the chairman of the association’s Regulatory and Environmental Committee. As chairman, Hatfield led efforts to streamline cooperation between industry experts and state regulators and researchers studying the state’s increase in seismic activity. The workgroup formed by Hatfield has served as a nationwide model for industry and government cooperation on seismic activity.

“This workgroup is a testament to the power of cooperation between regulators, academia and industry to accomplish goals that none could achieve individually,” said Hatfield, the first two-time recipient of the OIPA’s Member of the Year award. “A lot of hard working people on my committee made me look good and the credit should go to them.”

Under Hatfield’s direction, the OIPA commissioned a study of pneumatic controller emissions at Oklahoma oil and gas production facilities showing emissions from such devices are significantly lower than previous studies used to promote stricter air quality standards. The study gives regulators a better tool to estimate emissions from the oil and natural gas industry.

He also led efforts to raise $350,000 to help fund surveys of lesser prairie chicken in northwestern Oklahoma, benefiting the conservation efforts of the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation and making it easier for the oil and natural gas industry to remain in compliance with the conservation rules.

“Kim has worked tirelessly representing our industry on complex issues,” OIPA President Mike Terry said. “The strength of the OIPA is rooted in individual members like Kim whose service to the association and the industry exemplifies the volunteer driven spirit of the group.”

Hatfield joined Crawley in 1980 and became president in 1985.  He serves on the the boards of directors of Crawley Petroleum, Enertia Software, Cal-Sierra Pipe, and the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association.  Hatfield is also a director and officer of the Oklahoma Energy Explorers and a member of the Industry Advisory Board of the Mewbourne School of Petroleum and Geological Engineering and the Board of Visitors to the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy at OU.  His service to the University was recognized in 2010 when the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy granted him its Distinguished Service Award and in 2013 when he received the Regent’s Award.   

Hatfield holds a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering and an M.S. in Petroleum Finance from the University of Oklahoma.  He completed Harvard’s Owner-President Management Program in 1987.

<< Back to news